The Kent Youth League was formed in 1981, an idea of our joint Life President Dick Mace, the then secretary of Dartford F.C. started with just 8 clubs in an Under 18 section. It nearly folded twice, in 1985 due to only having 5 clubs and in 1986 due to finance.

Our late Patron, John Ullmann, came to our rescue and it has grown rapidly with many players going on to play top class football, the most famous being Ian Wright who started off with Greenwich Borough F.C. and more recently Chris Smalling now of Manchester United who played for Maidstone United at junior level.

For season 2023-24 the League now has 205 teams across 19 Divisions and 6 Cup Competitions and regularly teams from this League win County Cups from both Kent and London. The League runs very smoothly, and tries to maintain high standards and has strict Disciplinary Codes. One reason it runs so smoothly is thanks to a bunch of dedicated Officers who work many hours unpaid to maintain these standards. We are very proud of what we have achieved but are never complacent. Our aim is to give the players an opportunity to showcase their talents in the best possible environments.